taristhread

Words on Wednesday- Before You Hit Send

In Uncategorized, writing on January 22, 2014 at 7:25 am

DSCI0448

I’m writing today’s post at the risk of public editing. It’s okay, go ahead, I can take it.

Saturday, the Orange County Chapter of Romance Writer’s of America (Occ Rwa) hosted a workshop with Carina Press Editor, Angela James. Before You Hit Send is a seven hour intensive workshop on self-editing. That’s right, not only did I voluntarily spend seven hours listening to a lecture on punctuation, capitalization, adjectives, adverbs and dangling participles….but I paid for it. For the second time. (And yes, I do know this is a sentence fragment.)

The first class I took with Angela, was a three week online workshop on the same subject. It was so fantastic, that I just couldn’t miss the opportunity to attend her live workshop.

I came home energized and ready to confidently and mercilessly take my red pen to my manuscript.

I love her philosophy on grammar rules, her respect for writer’s and their work, and the fact that she not only gave me permission to do some reading, but she said it was a job requirement. (I love this job.)

This is not the English class we took in high school, or even the class you took to fulfill your ‘generals’ in college. Before You Hit Send isn’t about strictly applying rules to every sentence you write.

This workshop is about learning how to intelligently and confidently, make the words you love come to life. How to use grammar to give your story the magic you always knew could be there.

Needless to say, I’m an Angela James fan, and will sign up for her next workshop.

And thank you Occ Rwa for bringing Angela back to Orange County!!

So, go ahead, let me have it. Tell me about my misplaced commas, overuse of exclamation points, and of course, my favorite…run on sentences.

I’m ready, bring it on…….

  1. Tari, I am so excited for you. I read so many different authors. I love the different styles, I love the way they get you so engaged that you feel when you finish the book, you don’t want to let go of the characters. You want to keep on keeping with them. I will be so excited when I read your book. But I am excited for you for all literary experiences you are going through. Thank you for sharing them with us. (My Barnes and Noble bill is way too high).

  2. Thank you Aunt Gloria, I’m right there with you. I guess loving to read and having that experience of not wanting the story to end is a big part of what makes me love writing. I can hardly wait for you to read my book too!! Everything that’s happened the last couple of years has been amazing. Luckily, I don’t have a Barnes and Novle billl….on the other hand, I spend way too much on books at my writer’s meetings….but hey, reading is part of my job!!

Leave a Reply

