taristhread

New Bookstore, Great Authors…and Tres Leches Cake on a Tuesday!

In book signings, books, bookstores, Uncategorized, writing on May 2, 2012 at 9:10 am

So my hunky hubby, Paul took me to a book signing/book launch at Mysterious Galaxy Bookstore in Redondo Beach last night. I know, I know, I just attended the Los Angeles times Festival of Books, I really didn’t need another book to read….but are there ever really enough books? Besides, I love listening to what other writers have to say about their writing process, how their minds work, and how it all ends up on paper…or computer, not everyone writes their full manuscript on spiral notebooks with 10 cent pens like I do. Really I do.

Anyway, I think it’s important for writers to support each other and learn from each other, and when my friend, author Louisa Bacio sent out an invitation for the book signing, I thought it would be fun to go. Plus, it was at a new bookstore, a local bookstore …a really fabulous bookstore that I needed to check out. Did I mention there was wine, beer and tres leches cake?? Let me say right here that I didn’t touch any of it, I was good and ate ahead of time and stuck to my healthy plan. Ask Hunky Hubby, it’s true.

But, what a great conversation! Lisa Brackman, author of Getaway and Dana Fredsti, author of Plague Town, happen to be sisters.  Yes, sisters who write, sisters who are published, and sisters with much the same childhood background….but sisters who tell very different stories, at least in print.

Lisa writes fast paced contemporary thrillers, while Dana’s latest book is a zombie story with a touch of romance.

But, as sisters often do, they have a lot in common. They both give their mother as a major influence on their writing, or rather “a huge interactive part of their writing”.  When asked if they outlined their books both answered ‘no’. This makes me happy, because I can’t write the outline for my fiction until the story is written…. I don’t know what’s going to happen until it happens either…. Non-fiction, I always outline first, but fiction, nope, I write by hand as it happens in wide ruled spiral notebooks with 10 cent pens, really that’s how I write.

So anyway, both sisters are smart and witty, and they obviously have a strong bond. Both are talented, successful writers and an inspiration to those of us still working on that first novel.

I didn’t drink wine, and I didn’t eat cake, but I did indulge my book habit and picked up a copy of Lisa’s book Getaway, and Dana’s book Plague Town. So I guess I was a little naughty, but not really…I mean, after all, reading is good for you!!

What’s sitting on your nightstand waiting to be read? Which authors do you love to hear speak? How many of you have a novel you’ve written hidden in your bottom drawer? Or just an idea for a book you’d like to write?

Tell me in the comment section below…I’d love to know…

  1. Mary Higgins Clark cannot write books fast enough for me. Usually read mysteries, especially written by Christian authors. I am reading Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Swwet right now by Jamie Ford. Favorite last book I read was Safely Home by Randy Alcorn. Dina’s gift to me of a Nook has proved to be very expensive. Too easy to buy a book at midnight! I can’t pass up books eitther!

    • Aunt Gloria, I love my Kindle, it’s loaded with books right now, and I don’t have enough time to read them all!! Yep, and you can even buy a book in the middle of the night…in your jammies!!

  2. It’s been a while since I went to a private appearance/event at a local bookstore. It was so fabulous to get a different creative take, and here these sisters’ stories. Definitely gives me hope that my fighting daughters will someday grow closer.

    So glad you could come, and glad you enjoyed!

    • I think those sisters are an anomaly!! I’m still waiting for my boys 20, 22 & 29 to stop fighting, but I can tell you that they are the best of friends as well, and no one else can say bad things about their brothers…

      It was so nice to go to a NEW local bookstore…instead of seeing another one close!! They did a wonderful job at the event, and I’ll be a regular customer there!!

  3. Thanks so much for coming out, Tari! IMO there is nothing like a real book store, and I love attending author events myself (especially ones I’m not doing!). Mysterious Galaxy is such a huge asset to the community.

    • Lisa, thanks for reading my post. You were both really inspirational. I came home motivated and ready to write today…of course, now I want to read too!! Love Mysterious Galaxy, so glad to see a great bookstore opening instead of closing!!

  4. Hi, Tari! I’m so glad you enjoyed the event and thank you so much for posting about it!

Leave a Reply

