taristhread

There’s no place like home…….

In Life Essays, Uncategorized on January 16, 2012 at 7:41 pm

There’s no place like home……

It’s been weeks, maybe months…okay, a year of non-stop craziness. I think I can say that without truly exaggerating, not that I’m prone to exaggeration, in fact, I think for the most part I minimize things. Well, I try…I don’t like to let things get too far out of hand. So what was I saying, wait, weeks, months, a year…craziness. Oh yes. So anyway, Sunday, Hunky Hubby and I decided we needed a day of just..well… peace. Yes, a day of peace. We went down to the beach took a romantic walk, listened to the waves crash, watched the children playing on the sand. It was really nice. We ended up having a champagne brunch on the pier. Champagne…and it wasn’t even dark, oh my…

After lunch we stopped in a little shop on the pier that had jewelry and figurines, and I fell in love with a pin that had a pair of ruby red slippers, you know, like the ones in The Wizard of Oz. I’ve been thinking about this pin, and I may have to go back and get it.

You see, a few years ago, while we were still living in Wyoming, when we decided we wanted to move back home, I started a file. A file where I made our plan to get home, where I organized our house hunt, logged boxes as I packed them, everything to do with coming home. I named the file “Clicking My Heels Three Times”.

So now, I’m home, and although it’s not perfect, it’s exactly where I want to be. Yes, the traffic on the 405 freeway terrifies me, but Palm trees….yes, the cost of living is outrageous, but oh the weather, yes, the city is full of chaos…but there’s so much energy here.

Seeing that little pin with the ruby red slippers reminded me just how much I wanted to come home when I was away. Just how much home means to me, that dreams that lie over the rainbow aren’t always better….that there’s really no place like home…I might just have to go back and buy that pin.

  1. A big Amen! to this!

  2. and who was the fool that said you can’t go home. So wrong, so very wrong. But also we must remember home is where the heart is. Yours is with hubby. So glad you and he have such a wonderdful love affair going on in your lives. Really enjoy every word you write

  3. I’ll send you some money if you can’t afford it!! YOU HAVE TO HAVE THAT PIN!!!

Leave a Reply

