taristhread

The Perfect New Year Resolution

In Holidays, Life Essays, writing on January 2, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Over the years I’ve made numerous resolutions, some of them I’ve managed to follow through successfully, many others I’ve given up on months, weeks and sometimes even just days after making the resolution. This year, I’m looking back over the past year and previous resolutions, and I have a new resolution, one I’ve never made before.

1992 my resolutions were to lose weight, be perfectly groomed, have a perfect home and write a column for my local newspaper….I got the column and wrote it for  4 years.

1998 my resolutions were to lose weight, be perfectly groomed, have a perfect home, and homeschool my younger boys….hahahahaha, well I did homeschool the boys and any of you who have homeschooled know exactly what happened to the rest of those resolutions.

2002 my resolutions were to lose weight, be perfectly groomed, move to Wyoming, have a perfect home and write. We moved to Wyoming and I lost thirty pounds….must have been the mountain air!

2008 my resolutions were to lose weight (I’d long since gained back the previously lost weight), move back to California, be perfectly groomed and write….we moved back to California

2011 I resolved to lose weight, be perfectly groomed, have a perfect home and write a novel. I wrote the first draft of my novel, and began editing.

In 2011 I also was there as a dear friend lost her husband of 20 years to cancer, I saw my father for the first time in twenty years, let go of my kids just a little more as they grow up, held on tighter to my own loving husband of 23 years, and learned that writing really is what I want to do for the rest of my life.

So what do you think my resolutions are for 2012?

2012 I resolve to quit worrying about being perfect…it’s an impossible goal that sets me up for failure and makes me feel inadequate, I resolve to simply be my best, the best wife, mother, friend, writer, that I’m capable of being, and to love myself, something that I probably shouldn’t need to resolve to do, but clearly I do. (Okay, I still have to resolve to lose weight; I’m not ready to give up!)

I’ll get back to you this time next year to let you know how this goes. In the meantime, do you make New Year’s Resolutions? Which have been successful? What are your resolutions for 2012, I’d love to know!!

  1. Wishing you a happy, healthy and highly creative 2012 Tari!!!
    Like Every New Year
    … I will try to be a better me.
    … I will try to be more patient with myself and others.
    … I will try to laugh more and cry less.
    … I will play the ‘Glad Game’ like Pollyanna and focus on what I’m still able to do.
    … I will survive!
    Happy New Year!
    Stay inspired!
    Michelle
    Brain Angles – Invisible Ink

  2. The same to you!! Love your resolutions, thank you for sharing them!!

  3. Absolutely loved it!!!!! Creative and encouraging to all of us. I also thought of the weight one and decided, I will try and eat healthier but not worry about the skinny part. I make a resolution several years ago to love people with Christ’s love and see them with His eyes. I will never perfect it while on this earth, but God has helped each year to peal away little by little each year my critical, judgmental spirit. I have a long way to go but it sure is freeing.

    • Thank you so much Aunt Gloria. I think loving with a pure spirit is one of my biggest challenges. I try very hard not to be critical and judgmental, but as you said, I will never perfect it while on this earth. Thankfully, God judges us more lovingly than we judge ourselves!! Love you!

  4. Tari, you have always been perfect for me, as a wife, friend, partner, mother of our children and CFO. I love you so much and will support you in whatever you want or need to do as long as you are by my side. Love forever, Paul.

  5. You two are so cute and perfect for each other. I love the support you give one another. Kudos on being a good example for your kids. 🙂

    Your writing is inspiring as always, Tari. It’s very open and real. I like that. I stopped making resolutions a few years ago, for the reason you mentioned. I would set myself up for failure. Or did I? I find myself throughout the year noticing things I want to change or make better. Maybe I’m a resolution surfer…regardless, when we find things we can do to improve ourselves, and act on them, we are all the better for it. Love you my friend!

    • Thanks Susan! I know you and Jeff are the same with each other.

      I think I’m kind of like you, a ‘resolution surfer’. I like that term!! Maybe it’s good when we see things all year long to work on!! Love you!

  6. […] It goes along with the “and lose weight” resolution that I tack on to the end of my list of New Year’s resolutionseach year. If I get rid of these skinny clothes, it would be like giving up, and I don’t like to […]

Leave a Reply

